Flora Tsapovsky: Style, Food, Travel & Culture Writer

Screenshot 2019-07-14 at 5.19.56 PM.png

My Native Admission Statement: I’m a writer. I cover three of my biggest passions: culture, style and food. Working has always felt like a seamless part of everyday life to me because I take deep interest in these topics as in, and would have been paying attention to them if it was simply for fun. I freelance for publications like the San Francisco Chronicle, Bon Appetit, Tablet and others, always trying to put my finger on the meaningful trends that shape our society and identify the revolutionaries who truly stand out.

How did you get into the industry?

I started writing for the Tel Aviv university newspaper at the age of 20, while studying there. I wrote for free, slowly building out my own style, research tools and critical thinking techniques. Then, all it takes is one well-recognized publication to give you a chance to publish things with your own byline - mine was a lifestyle website. I contributed to it for two years, while still in college, then took my bylines and experience and pitched an idea to a print magazine. The key is publishing great material you’re proud of, and always pushing yourself, one step at a time, towards more reputable, lucrative and intelligent publications.

Any industry opportunities or challenges?

When I moved to the U.S from Israel in 2012, I had to restart my career in a foreign language. Again, I started from the bottom, writing for a very small website and honing my writing skills in a language I knew very well, but had never written in before. Then, I made an effort to place myself at setting where I could meet fellow writers and editors, and make connections.

What do I do best?

I know how to recognize a good story and turn it into a compelling read. I’m also pretty good at getting a feel for an emerging trend in its very inception.

What are my aspirations?

My professional aspiration is to write for today’s most cutting-edge publications: New York Magazine, Bon Appetit in print, Business of Fashion. On a personal level, I always aspire to lead a life that’s interesting, exciting, and rich. I know it sounds like everyone’s dream. I’m not special in that.

My Biggest Success?

Being able to start over in a new place; make connections, get to know the industry, build up my portfolio. All of that, at the age of 30, at which of my American colleagues have already spent about a decade in the profession.

My Favorite Places/Destinations?

I’m a city person, and would always choose an urban setting for inspiration. I’m drawn to places that are a little bit unpretty, unmanicured, with a very vibrant lifestyle and typically a warmer climate. My favorite places to visit are Mexico City, my hometown of Tel Aviv, and Lisbon, which I’d visited once and can’t stop thinking about. I’m also gradually falling in love with L.A, it’s little neighborhoods and laid-back, city-meets-beach vibe.

My Favorite Products/Objects?

I’ve been journaling since I was 14, and don’t have a Google Calendar, only a paper day planner. For these very important purposes, I always use a black Pilot V5 pen. I can’t live without it. I also love cheap and durable sandals from Target, Moroccanoil and jumpsuits. All the jumpsuits.

My Current Passions?

I joined the library in 2018, and it’s been a gift that keeps on giving. I’m currently reading an essay collection by Meaghan Daum and it recently made my cry - a book! I’m very passionate about teaching a Social Media Strategies class at San Francisco’s Academy of Art University - I love how knowledgeable and curious the students are, and we have great debates and discussions on anything from Kylie Jenner to KPIs. Also, Lizzo and Bomba Estereo and raising an incredibly funny 2-years old daughter.

A Day in My Life:

Every day is different: sometimes I stay home to work, sometimes I run around between work events and errands. I typically wake up around 7:30, spend some time with my husband and daughter and slurp coffee. After I drop her off at daycare, I often head to The Wing, my coworking space, and devour their delicious overnight oats before starting on those damn emails. I plan pitches, write out existing assignments, interview folks and DM furiously until lunch. If I don’t eat at The Wing, I might meet a friend for lunch nearby -I like Souvla or something else casual.

After lunch, I dedicate some time to the online course I teach, try to read up on news in my industry and stare at favorite Instagram accounts.

Around 3 I head home, and try to rest for a little bit before picking my daughter up (why freelance if you can’t take a bath at 4 pm?!). In the evening, we either hang out at home reading books, or I head out again, to a restaurant opening, a launch or a media dinner. At 10 pm my brain shuts down and I watch stuff like GLOW and Unreal to relax.

What Else to Know?

You can find my work here: I recently wrote about our obsession with sitting in a circle and a shocking encounter with my childhood food. You can also find my attempts to be a micro-influencer here and listen to me talk about my big move here.