Julia Bendis: Matchmaker

My NativeAdVantage:

Bio:

Julia Bendis was born in the Former Soviet Union, and moved to the U.S. at the age of 13. She still speaks and writes fluently in Russian. She's also Jewish, so that makes her a true "Fiddler on the Roof" Matchmaker.  Julia decided to formally start her business after decades of helping lonely people find their partners in life. She did it as a hobby on her free time, but realized that she spent more time getting involved in people's personal lives than any other job she had. Now, decades later she has established an incredible service, a big following, and hundreds of people who have benefitted from her service.  She doesn't advertise, do any kind of marketing besides her website and social media presence, and all her clients are either referrals from past clients, word of mouth or simply people she meets while out and about.  Even now Julia walks up to people wherever she goes, asking them if they are single, and if she can help them find their partner in life, and offer invaluable dating and relationship advice. She works with male and female clients in Orange County and Los Angeles area. 

What do you do best?

Taking care of people. That’s everything I’ve ever done, whether it’s with my Matchmaking business or cooking for people. I love to help and be helpful whenever I can.

What makes you the best?

I’d have to say it’s my integrity and being upfront. As a Matchmaker, I will not take on a client if I don’t think I can help them. I can’t sleep at night knowing someone paid money but I don’t have anyone to match them with. In general, I am very upfront, I don’t sugar-coat things or say what people want to hear. I don’t see how that would help anyone in life. We all want to grow and learn from our mistakes, and the only way to do it is if we’re honest with each other.

What are your aspirations?

My personal aspirations are to grow spiritually and concentrate more on what makes me happy inside, whether it’s from meditating, doing yoga or just sitting still and staring at the ocean (I have a hard time keeping still, always on the go). My business goals are to raise more awareness for those individuals that are suffering from any type of abuse or neglect. I’ve always been an advocate for anyone being subjected to abuse. Right now, I’m working with various organizations in Orange County, CA to raise awareness, money and anything else that victims of human trafficking and other abuse may require.

Biggest Success?

I think my biggest success has to be my two boys, they’re 17 and 11. To watch them grow into young men who value their roots, their family and others around them has to be the biggest accomplishment for any parent. I’m truly in awe when I see them help those that are less fortunate or stand up for those that are being picked on at school, or just be kind to those around them. It’s truly incredible to see your kids growing up to be good human beings that not only want to help others, but do it on their own volition as well.  And of course, all the couples that I brought together is another accomplishment that I hold dear to my heart, especially the ones that went on to get married and have children of their own.

Most Challenging Moment?

I’ve turned down many offers that would financially be very rewarding, however it would also mean I’d have to jeopardize my values and how I operate. Instead, I chose my own path and my own small business, in order to maintain the high standard of traditional Matchmaking that I offer. I don’t believe that high quantity of clients means you’re doing great. I believe in high quality of matches for my clients over quantity, and sometimes that means having to keep your business small, in order to maintain the personalized service. Money isn’t everything, but human relationships are everything.

Motto?

Nothing is ever over. Nothing is ever truly done. Never say never, because nothing is set in stone. And probably the one from above is a motto I live by as well: Money isn’t everything, but human relationships are everything.

Favorite People/Role Models?

Oh that would be a very long list. I look up to anyone who does any kind of good in the world, I don’t care if they’re famous or regular folk. As long as you’re setting a good example for others, being a decent human being and actually doing something positive in the world… That’s a role model to me.

Favorite Places/Destinations?

I love visiting small and quaint places, I don’t like the hustle and bustle of big cities, and it’s traffic. So Ojai, CA is one of my favorite places in the U.S. I can’t wait til I can retire there, while Matchmaking of course (I’ll never stop Matchmaking). I have very fond memories of the Black Sea in Ukraine, we used to go there in the summers with my grandparents. Anywhere near the water is heaven to me, whether it’s a river, a lake or the ocean. Water brings calmness and peace to our souls.

Favorite Products/Objects?

I’m not a big consumer of goods or materialistic things. I truly try to get pleasure out of friendships, being with my family and learning new things. The only thing that I can’t live without would be olive oil (I cook everything with it, and it’s much healthier than anything else), music, which calms me down after a stressful day, and my kids! Honestly can’t name a single thing that I have to have. I can give up pretty much anything in a heartbeat, especially technology (not a big fan of it).

Current Passions?

The one true passion that hasn’t changed since I was little is helping people, in whatever way I can. Cooking for them or setting them up with other singles or just listening when they need an ear. I remember going to an orphanage back in Latvia when I was about 12 years old, and just playing with the kids, holding babies, and thinking that I never want to stop…  That constant need to help has never left me. My other passions are reading, anything I can get my hands on. I love comedy and spiritual healing books, meditation and learning about past lives.